skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Birth and Death Certificates

Department of Health Jackson County

Request a Birth Certificate 

You may obtain a certified certificate of birth in person or by mail for persons born in Florida from 1930 to present.

The first step is to determine your eligibility (relationship) to receive a birth certificate. You must meet 1 of the following criteria: - Be the child named on the certificate AND over 18 years old; or be the parent, guardian or legal representative of the person named on the certificate.

All letters or applications must include a copy of a PICTURE ID of the applicant and the signature and relationship/eligibility must be stated.

When ordering a birth certificate we require the full name at birth, date and place of birth, mother's maiden name, fathers name, signature of parent, legal guardian or legal representative, I.D. of applicant. The signature of the person if they are over 18 years of age.

If you apply in person or by mail, the fee for each initial birth certificate is $12.00 for the first copy and $8.00 for each additional ordered at the same time on the same person.

If you write you must enclose a copy of your driver's license along with a check, money order, or cashier's check.

Do not send cash.

Location and Office Hours:

Department of Health Jackson County
4979 Healthy Way
Marianna, FL 32447            
(850)526-2412 Ext.176 - phone
(850)482-9700 - fax
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday

The following form can be downloaded:

                    Birth Certificate Request Form (32.3kb xlsx doc)

or contact Jackson County Health Department at (850) 526-2412 ext. 176 and request a form.

You can also request a Birth Certificate from the State Vital Statistics office, in Jacksonville.

If the birth did not occur in Florida --please go to the following link to order certificates from other states: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm

Request a Death Certificate 

You may obtain a certified certificate of death in person or by mail for persons who died in Jackson County 2006 – Present.

Step 1 - Determine your eligibility to receive a death certificate. Section 382-025 (2)(a)1, Florida Statutes, death certificate with cause of death may be issued “to the registrant’s spouse or parent, or registrant’s child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or to any family member who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates the family member’s interest in the estate of the registrant, or to any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the family members.”

If the death did not occur in Florida --please go to the following link to order certificates from other states: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm

Step 2 - Provide information about the person named on the certificate, Full name of the deceased person, Sex, Date of death (month, day, year or series of years to be searched) City or county of death.

Step 3 - Provide information about the person ordering the certificate Full name Relationship to decedent (if requesting cause of death) Mailing address Phone number where you can be reached during business hours and copy of driver’s license When ordering a death certificate we require the name of the deceased, date and place of death, your relationship to the deceased, the purpose for which you are using the record, and your signature.

The fee for each death certificate is $10.00. If cause of death is required you must have ID, or be beneficiary to an insurance policy.

When ordering by mail, please send a check, money order.

Do not send cash.

Location & Office Hours:

Jackson County Health Department
4979 Healthy Way
Marianna, FL 32447                 
(850)526-2412 Ext. 176 - phone
(850)482-9700 - fax                                                                                                     
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

The following form can be downloaded:

                Death Certificate Request Form (32.9kb xlsx)

or contact The Jackson County Health Department at (850) 526-2412 ext 176 and request a form.

You can also request a Death Certificate for deaths occurring before 2006 and for deaths occurring in another county in Florida from the State Vital Statistics office, in Jacksonville 904-359-6900 ext. 9000.

Below are links to State of Florida Vital Statistics Resources 

Contact Office of Vital Statistics
Click here for contact information for the Office of Vital Statistics

Contact your local CHD
Click here for a listing of addresses and telephone numbers of the 67 County Health Departments if you wish to order your birth or death certificate  through your local CHD Vital Statistics office.

About Vital Records and Statistics in Florida

 


 
 
FOREIGN BIRTH AND DEATH RECORD INFORMATION
 

Persons in need of a copy of a foreign birth or death record should contact the Embassy or the nearest Consulate in the U.S. of the country in which the birth or death occurred. Addresses and telephone numbers for these offices are listed in the U.S. Department of State Publication 7846, Foreign Consular offices in the United States.


Vital Chek
 
Order a death certificate or your birth certificate online